Monday, November 30, 2015

Popeye's fried chicken Walkley rd Ottawa update.

I live very close to the new and "opening soon" Popeye's Louisiana Chicken and thought I would finally get around to taking some pictures in case anyone might be interested.
So far Popeye's had said they would open the Walkley rd store labour day weekend, then they posted on their "official Facebook" that someone was posting fake info and this was not written by them.

They (Popeye's Canada official Facebook page) had even said that it was people on Redit that made this up.
Well, I have never even been on Redit, Reditt? and saw this info on Facebook.
But it was quickly deleted.
Then the next for sure opening date was going to be Thanksgiving (of what year,haha....).

Now Popeye's has gone back to saying they have "some issues" and will be opening soon.

Here are my pictures, I took these Sunday night!

Popeye's Entrance!
Still being built...

Coming Soon!!!

Well, that is about it! Wonder how long it will take to open?
Have you been to the St Laurent rd location? How did you like it?

Sunday, October 25, 2015

Super Duper Pizza review! Ottawa pizza delivery, super tasty and quick delivery!

Pizza still in the box!
I've been ordering from this local pizza place in Ottawa south for quite a few years,but just never get around to taking pictures of my pizza to review.
Super Duper Pizza has been around quite a few years-not exactly sure how long,but I've lived in the south end of the city for at least 10 years so far.
Tonight I really was hoping for some fried chicken and they were all sold out :(, but my second choice was the pizza.
Actually I was going to get chicken and pizza and have a bit of both.
My order was for a small pizza with bacon and pineapple (not a ham fan), and this pizza had almost too much bacon (if that is possible), there was some pineapple- but not too much. There was also a lot of cheese,I was going to ask for less cheese but did not this time.
My small pizza weighed almost 670 grams on my kitchen scale and one slice was aprox 180grams.
The dough on the pizza is quite thick,so even just one slice is quite filling. I had almost 2 slices and then put the rest in my freezer for another day (you can reheat the slices nicely in the oven, wrapped in foil).
The small pizza is 10" and the cost was around $16 including tax. Small one item is $10.85 and extra items are $1.25.
There is also a special on Mon/Tues after 4pm that is much less than other days-I just need to remember to order then...
If I had to compare this pizza to any other kind in this city,this would be very similar to Colonade pizza.
This is not one of those thin crust,fancy ingredient kind of pies. I like those too,but for a thick crust,really cheesy pie this one is Super!

A slice of Super Duper Pizza!

Where else do you get pizza from in Ottawa? I'm always looking to try new places and types of food!

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Food at the Capital Fair 2015, Waffle on a stick,mini doughnuts,fried Mars bar and poutine. A petting zoo too! (former Gloucester Fair, The Ex).

The 2015 edition of the Capital Fair just opened and is running until Aug 30.
Admission is FREE and it is located at the Rideau-Carleton Entertainment Center.
This is the same venue where they hold horse races and some concerts.
I have not been to any fair in quite a few years and thought it would be fun to check out for the petting zoo, stunt dog show and the food!

First I'll start with the food.
There was the typical fair food-poutine,fries,slush,pizza,mini doughnuts and a stand selling some waffles on a stick.
That sounded like an interesting item to try-I had a pepperoni and cheese filled waffle that came with marinara dipping sauce.
The waffle was made when I ordered it and the cheese was in the middle,with the pepperoni and batter on the outside. This was not a big sized item,but was very tasty- very similar to a pizza. I would definitely order this again.
There was also a grilled cheese and bacon waffle and that looked good too. There was some kind of bacon "bomb" waffle meat thing,but that was sold out-so did not get to try that.
Cost was $5.00

WAFFLE ON A STICK:Pepperoni and cheese!

Inside of the waffle on a stick!

Tom's Doughnuts and Cotton Candy from a vendor.
I also bought some other typical fair foods to take home-mini doughnuts and some cotton candy!
The doughnuts were from Tom's doughnuts and cost $5 for 18 from the stand when you come in the fair. There is also a Tiny Tom's doughnuts in the fair and they are $5 for a dozen.
My doughnuts were made right when I ordered them and were piping hot,so I thought they were really good.

Also had a lot of fun at the petting zoo,the goats and llama were very friendly!

Monday, July 20, 2015

Topbox July 2015 contents and review!

Hope everyone is having a great summer and enjoying the warm weather!
I have not done any Topbox reviews lately as I had some computer issues (broken laptop) and some injuries too...
But I plan to catch up with my reviews eventually...

One small issue I have with Topbox is that I have been subscribing since the very first box and lately the items are quite repetitive. Mascara almost every month, nail polish, eye liner, Arden skincare (yet again...).
Now I do eventually use my samples,but lately could not use any eye products as I had a lot of contact lens problems. My eyes were super irritated and even the sun bothered me a lot.
I seem to be fine for now after not using anything at all in my eye area and use only single use eye drops,so it must be my allergies acting up...

Finally I will just get to the contents of my July 2015 Topbox..... 

*BareMinerals Lash Domination Volumizing Mascara: sample size 1.5ml $3.00/ full size 10ml $18.I do not use mascara every day, at most a couple times a week. Will try to use this soon...

*Blinc eyeliner: sample size 0.7g $3.25/ full size 6ml $26.
I like Blinc products and own their eyelash curler. I did not know they had a eyeliner,but have heard so much about their famous mascara-yet have never tried it.
This sounds really neat- a eyeliner that "peels off" with water and some pressure. I will try this soon...

*Elizabeth Arden Ceramides Capsules Daily Youth Restoring Serum: sample size 7 capsules $9/ full size 60 capsules $74.
This is a generous sample size and trial with a week's worth of capsules. I'm pretty sure I've tried these many times before and they seem decent. I already like a different product that comes in a similar format from another brand (a 10% vit C product).
But I will try this out for a week and report back...

*OFRA Cosmetics Universal Eyebrow Pencil: full size "sample" 1.13g $13.
This pencil looks like it will last me quite a long time. I naturally have very dark brows and do not really use anything on them. I will try and use this pencil a few times this week and see how that goes.

The total value of my samples this month was...........$26.25
That is good considering the cost of my box is
around $13.
As long as it is not pouring rain this week,I will use my samples and report back.

Topbox info card.

Did you receive a Topbox this month?
What did they send you?

Sunday, July 19, 2015

Ottawa Night Market at Lansdowne Park 2015 photos!

The Ottawa Night Market is one of the first festivals held at the newly renovated Lansdowne Park.
The "night market" is also on for one more day, Sunday July 19 from 2-8 pm.
I was there on the Saturday evening and it was very crowded and there were quite a lot of food tents to check out, but the lines were quite confusing- it was hard to know where to line up and where to pick up your food.
Also a bit hard to tell what kinds of dishes were being sold. There were signs mostly with "Asian text" and the price shown in Canadian dollars.
There was also, oddly enough quite a lot of non-Asian food for sale- like Greek food,Churros,Gelato. frozen custard, blooming onion and potato stand....
There was also a lot of tents selling grilled items and the air was quite smoky due to this.
A lot of places has grilled squid and lamb and there was even Balut for sale.
I saw one guy eat one of those eggs with the baby bird in it and kind of unfortunately said "interesting food,but I do not eat eggs with baby birds in them", but if you like them then good...
I do not eat much meat,and there is a lot of animal products I do not eat,but if other people want to eat them.
Well the Balut was only $3,that is all I have to say about it.

Grilled squid at the market!
I did not get around to trying the squid, it was hard to know where the line started and the lineups were also very long and did not seem to be moving.
The squid was served on a stick and in a paper bag. Watching the workers cook was interesting though.

Oyster omelette!

The oyster omelette seemed like a interesting dish to try,but I did not feel like having eggs. Also,I do not really eat oysters. But if someone gave me this dish I would eat it.
Usually I eat omelette with mushrooms or mushroom and cheese or a vegetable version.
Sign from omelette stand.

Shrimp cakes with fish sauce.

I did buy some shrimp cakes with fish sauce. This was from a Vietnamese table. These were served at room temperature and had vegetables with a shrimp on top. Not too sure what the entire filling was, there might have been eggs in it.
Sticky rice with coconut, sesame and peanut.

After a long walk around I ended up going back to the same table and buying some sticky rice with coconut,peanut and sesame seeds. I think the rice had green tea on it also.
I eat a lot of Vietnamese food,but the place I go to does not really have desserts,so this was interesting to try.

If you have the chance, check out this event. It is free admission and outdoors.
It is also cash only and there are bank machines on Bank st and Whole Foods does cash back also.
The market was neat to attend,but they really need to have more organized lines and maybe some explanations about the foods. I know maybe what half the foods were and the rest,well the signs were not in English,so that did not help me as I was not there with anyone who reads other languages.

Does anyone have any recommendations for what other foods to try. I can always go back Sunday for lunch or dinner....

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Feb 2015 Topbox review!

Finally getting around to reviewing my Feb 2015 Topbox!
It seems I am much slower at posting my reviews about Topbox. I think that one of the main reasons for that is that I have gotten quite a few products that are not as suited for my everyday use.
I have a ton of makeup brushes and so many eye products that it is hard to even use them all up.
At this moment the only subscription to anything I have is Topbox- I've been a "subscriber" since their very first box!!!

Feb 2015 Topbox!

These are the items I received in my Feb 2015 Topbox:

Eyeco: Hydrogel Eye Patch: Sample size- 1 pair, $4.50/ Full size 4 pairs $18.
These eye patches were very refreshing and relaxing to use. My eyes did feel more refreshed after using these. The eye patches are made of a kind of thick gel that is shaped like a half circle.
You just put these under your eyes and then relax for up to 20 minutes while your eyes get a nice treatment.
These would be good after a long day or being in the sun quite a lot.
If you put these in the fridge, they are even more refreshing.
I did not see any change for my dark circles,but my eye area did feel more refreshed and rested.
Also if you are careful and put the eye patches in a ziplock bag it is possible to get one more use out of these. (I did reuse these a couple days later,so I think that would be fine. not weeks later as this is for the eye area).

There is fragrance in this product, but it did not bother me and was not very noticeable.
I would buy this product, it was a relaxing treat.

L'Occitane: Almond Shower Oil: Sample size 30ml, $3/ Full size 250ml $24.
This is a product I have always wanted to try!
I was quite happy to receive this shower oil as my skin is extremely dry during the winter.
The shower oil had a light almond scent and was not overpowering at all.
Usually I use a fragrance-free shower oil, but this was a nice change.
If you use this oil with a bath puff there is a lot more foam and bubbles that if you used just your hands or a washcloth.
You do not need a lot of product when using this. I would buy this shower oil next time I pass by one of the Occitane shops!

Dermadoctor, Inc. :KP duty lotion: Sample size 30ml, 
My Topbox card said I should have received the Picture Porefect pore minimizer. I was sent the famous KP duty lotion instead.
I will have to try this on my dry elbows as I do not have "KP chicken skin".
The tube has a picture of a chicken and I keep on reading about this brand and how KP looks like chicken skin....
30ml is a good size to try and see how a product works for you!

SPRING! is finally here! Great time for some new resolutions...

Hi all!
Spring is finally here and all the snow has melted in my city.
The trees and grass are green again, what better time to make some new spring resolutions.

My first resolution will be to post more on my blog. I have really slacked off on this for too many reasons to list.
I am going to aim for one post every two days.
Now I am not sure if I should keep my blog format the same- posting about cosmetics and some food posts.
Would a separate food blog be better?
I do have a ton of food related posts and it might make more sense to separate the two subjects.

Resolution #2 will be to get out more and enjoy all the local festivals Ottawa has to offer.
The tulip festival is on right now and there are tons of lovely tulips all over the city!

My indoor gardening!

I'll end my post with this lovely flower that I grew indoors this winter.
This was from a Amaryllis kit purchased from the grocery store! My plant got so tall and ended up being higher than my kitchen counter.